RSS

Why Some Men Never Learn

25 Apr

Here’s the scene: Brian (a friend) and I were on a road trip. I’m on my phone. His phone rings, a female’s face pops up on the screen, and he answers. Some time later we both get off the phone and the following conversation ensues.

Brian: I don’t understand you women.
 
Me: What are you talking about?
 
Brian: [scoffs] Calling me talking about another man.
 
Me: Hunh?
 
Brian: I don’t understand y’all. She called me to ask me about her relationship with somebody else. I don’t care nothing about that dude.
 
Me: Okay.
 
Brian: You can’t call me asking about somebody else when you still call me sometimes to tell me you miss me, you want me to come visit, and all that stuff.
 

This conversation went on for a while until, he hit me with the purpose of this blog…

Brian: I mean, as far as I’m concerned, until a woman gets married, I am the only man she has ever been with.
 
Me: Whaaat?!??
 
Brian: …or until she has a baby. [pauses] Nah, not even a baby. Until she gets married. I don’t want to think about her with some other man. Yep, until a woman gets married I am the only one.
 

There’s a lesson in this conversation. As nonsensical as Brian’s foolishness sounded to me, it gave me a clear view into the often twisted male mind. According to Brian’s rule, he will always and forever have an opening with any and every woman in his past, until marriage do them part. Unless some other man stakes an official public claim to her, he will believe that he has a chance to rekindle whatever relationship they once shared.

I have often wondered why some man who I haven’t spoken to, been nice to, or responded to in a length of time (sometimes months, sometimes years) would waste time (both his and mine) by contacting me and attempting to (re)connect. And this answers my question…probably because he’s too damn dumb to realize that he has no chance. Thus, it does no good to be rude or dismissive in hopes that he will catch a clue. The only way some men will leave is if you marry. And here I sit eternally single and apparently an option for any and every man with whom I ever spent time.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Dating, Marriage

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Why Some Men Never Learn

  1. geminiunleashed

    April 25, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Well to judge men off of one mans comment is completely wrong. I personally never have contact with my ex an have never called her since we separated. I think maybe two things are happening with him, sounds like he is either in her friend zone an he broke it off with her. If you as the woman take your time to end something decisively then he won’t be coming back. Also women tend to hold on to relationships that didn’t have proper closure, of they want to feel wanted. Deny a woman closure an she will never really be able to move on. So don’t refer to men as being dumb, close the door to the relationship an when a man falls on hard times he won’t see the door is still half open.

     
    • That Girl

      April 25, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      I will apologize if you took offense to my post, but I stand by my conclusions and my statements. I didn’t judge all men based on this one experience, nor did I call all men dumb. The title even refers to “some men”. I know you don’t know me personally, but I have had several instances where I have been as clear as humanly possible in my word choice and communication (verbal and physical) with men that I am not interested…and those efforts have been to no avail. So, yes, I group those men and their orientation to me as an potential option in the same category with my friend B and the girl in this story.

       
      • geminiunleashed

        April 25, 2012 at 11:13 pm

        I am not offended just merely trying to clarify.

         

Now what you think about that?

 
